Australian History - Unorthodox Australian Poet

Go to content

Main menu:

Australia has six states -
New South Wales (NSW), Queensland (QLD), South Australia (SA), Tasmania (TAS), Victoria (VIC) and Western Australia (WA)—and two major mainland territories—the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and the Northern Territory (NT). In most respects these two territories function as states, but the Commonwealth Parliament can override any legislation of their parliaments
The federal parliament directly administers the following territories:[84]
Ashmore and Cartier Islands
Australian Antarctic Territory
Christmas Island
Cocos (Keeling) Islands
Coral Sea Islands
Heard Island and McDonald Islands
Jervis Bay Territory, a naval base and sea port for the national capital in land that was formerly part of New South Wales

The external territory of Norfolk Island previously exercised considerable autonomy under the Norfolk Island Act 1979 through its own legislative assembly and an Administrator to represent the Queen.[100] In 2015, the Commonwealth Parliament abolished self-government, integrating Norfolk Island into the Australian tax and welfare systems and replacing its legislative assembly with a council.[101]
Macquarie Island is administered by Tasmania, and Lord Howe Island by New South Wales.

Australia's landmass of 7,617,930 square kilometres (2,941,300 sq mi)[121] is on the Indo-Australian Plate. Surrounded by the Indian and Pacific oceans,[N 5] it is separated from Asia by the Arafura and Timor seas, with the Coral Sea lying off the Queensland coast, and the Tasman Sea lying between Australia and New Zealand.
The flag of Australia -
is a defaced Blue Ensign: a blue field with the Union Jack in the canton (upper hoist quarter), and a large white seven-pointed star known as the Commonwealth Star in the lower hoist quarter. The fly contains a representation of the Southern Cross constellation, made up of five white stars – one small five-pointed star and four, larger, seven-pointed stars.

The Australian flag uses three prominent symbols: the Union Flag, the Commonwealth Star (also the Federation Star) and the Southern Cross (or Crux).
In its original usage as the flag of United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, the Union Flag combined three heraldic crosses which represent the constituent countries of the United Kingdom (as constituted in 1801):
  • The red St George's Cross of England
  • The white diagonal St Andrew's Cross of Scotland
  • The red diagonal St Patrick's Cross of Ireland
The Union Flag is thought to symbolise Australia's history as six British colonies and the principles upon which the Australian Federation is based, although a more historic view sees its inclusion in the design as demonstrating loyalty to the British Empire.
Under the Flags Act, the Australian National Flag must meet the following specifications:
the Union Flag occupying the upper quarter next the staff;
a large seven-pointed white star (six representing the six states of Australia and one representing the territories) in the centre of the lower quarter next the pye and pointing direct to the centre of St George's Cross in the Union Flag;
five white stars (representing the Southern Cross) in the half of the flag further from the staff.

The location of the stars is as follows:
Commonwealth Star – 7 pointed star, centred in lower hoist.
Alpha Crucis – 7 pointed star, straight below centre fly 1/6 up from bottom edge.
Beta Crucis – 7 pointed star, 1/4 of the way left and 1/16 up from the centre fly.
Gamma Crucis – 7 pointed star, straight above centre fly 1/6 down from top edge.
Delta Crucis – 7 pointed star, 2/9 of the way right and 31/240 up from the centre fly.
Epsilon Crucis – 5 pointed star, 1/10 of the way right and 1/24 down from the centre fly.

The outer diameter of the Commonwealth Star is 3/10 of the flag's width, while that of the stars in the Southern Cross is 1/7 of the flag's width, except for Epsilon, for which the fraction is 1/12. Each star's inner diameter is 4/9 of the outer diameter. The flag's width is the measurement of the hoist edge of the flag (the distance from top to bottom).
Wreath Flower Leschenaultia
Western Australia has one of the most spectacular displays of wildflowers anywhere in the world. At least 12,000 plant species live across the state, with more discovered every year. Yet the soils here are among the most barren in the world, and it hardly ever rains.
Wildflower season in Western Australia begins in June, and lasts through until December. During this time, many of the state's 13,000 species of plants will be flowering, although many also bloom in late summer and autumn
The best-known wildflowers are the fields of everlasting daisies that form yellow, pink or white carpets, kilometres wide on the side of the road. These are most spectacular along the Great Eastern Highway inland of Perth, and north and east of Geraldton growing on red sands.

Some of Australia's more familiar plants take on a dazzling new palate in the west, such as eucalypts with blood-red blossoms, orange-flowering banksias, pink boronias, red-and-green kangaroo paw, red poker and Royal hakeas, and magenta paperbark blossom.

Also popular are the bizzare wreath Leschenaultia, and the Geraldton Wax flower,
that now pops up in florist shops around the world. There's even a particularly pungent plant called the Smelly Socks Grevillea.

Some wildflowers are pollinated by mammals, which is unusual for Australia.
The honey possum, for example, is uniquely adapted among marsupials to obtain food from flowers. It prefers nectar from banksias, bottlebrushes, hakeas, dryandras, melaleuca and eucalypt, foraging deep within flowers with its long snout and brush-tipped tongue

Wildflower facts
• WA is known at the Wildflower State because of its world-famous wildflowers that emerge every spring.
• The southwestern corner of WA has more species of flowering plants than almost anywhere else in the world.

The Coat of Arms
of Australia is the formal symbol of the Commonwealth of Australia  and its monarch, currently Queen Elizabeth .
The first arms were authorised by King Edward VII  on 7 May 1908, and the current version by King George V  on 19 September 1912.
Although the 1908 version continued to be used in some contexts, notably appearing on the reverse  of the sixpenny coin .
The Red Kangaroo and Emu that support the shield have never been designated as official animal emblems of the nation.
They owe their unofficial recognition to the fact that they are native Australian fauna

We ( the people ) are the only country in the world to eat their national emblem
The Kangaroo and The Emu are good eating
website designed by Garry Gosney
program used :: Incomedia , website x5 evolution 12
site powered by :: Digital


Copyright © 1998 to current DATE ©

Garry Gosney - PHOTOGRAPHY

TX 6-343-142  /  Txu 1-311-739  /  TX 6-995-977  /  Tx 7-285-513


All rights reserved. United States Copyright Office , U.S.A

Back to content | Back to main menu